why I cannot use installed fonts

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
dav22
Posts: 29
Joined: 2020-02-05T09:22:25-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

why I cannot use installed fonts

Post by dav22 »

Hello;
I am a newbie to Imagemagick,
running ImageMagick-7.0.9-Q16, on windows 7, 64 bit,
I tried to add some text on an image, it did work fine,
but when I tried to use some fonts that I do use in word document, Gimp, etc.. the script does not produce anything or just use a default font.
Do I have to do anything to let imagemagick recognizes my windows installed fonts?

I have tried to give some path to fonts , but it did not work.

anyone willing to guide me on this please?
thanks

snibgo
Posts: 12904
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: why I cannot use installed fonts

Post by snibgo »

Perhaps your command is wrong, but how can we guess if you don't show us your command?

Perhaps you used a font that isn't listed in "magick -list font".
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

dav22
Posts: 29
Joined: 2020-02-05T09:22:25-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: why I cannot use installed fonts

Post by dav22 »

thanks for respond
I am using the script below, it does work, but not with font I put in the script,
I did run this command:
magick -list font
and I copied all the text that showed up in a notepad,
I wonder why all the fonts on widows does not show up, anyhow, the font that is in the script below was among those fonts.
I use AMP font viewer software, so I check the name from there to make sure the name is not misspelled.
thanks for your guiding.

Code: Select all

magick a2.jpg -fill white -font trajanpro-bold_0 -pointsize 75X -gravity center -annotate 0x40+0+0  "This is line1\n this is line2" A2-result.jpg

snibgo
Posts: 12904
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: why I cannot use installed fonts

Post by snibgo »

IM should recognise all TTF fonts installed on Windows. After installing a font, no further action is needed.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Post Reply