How do I shift the hue of a black png?

IMagick is a native PHP extension to create and modify images using the ImageMagick API. ImageMagick Studio LLC did not write nor does it maintain the IMagick extension, however, IMagick users are welcome to discuss the extension here.
madvillager
Authentication code: 1152

How do I shift the hue of a black png?

Post by madvillager »

hello friends!

Imagick newbie here...

having difficulty accomplishing something simple: load a black png and shift its color before outputting to screen.

platform: OSX Mojave

Code: Select all

php --ri imagick
returns

imagick module => enabled
imagick module version => 3.4.3
imagick classes => Imagick, ImagickDraw, ImagickPixel, ImagickPixelIterator, ImagickKernel
Imagick compiled with ImageMagick version => ImageMagick 7.0.8-14 Q16 x86_64 2018-10-25 https://imagemagick.org
Imagick using ImageMagick library version => ImageMagick 7.0.8-14 Q16 x86_64 2018-10-25 https://imagemagick.org
etc.

my PHP:

$dir = dirname(__FILE__);
$imageFolder = "/images/";
$faceImageFile = "face.png";

$face = new Imagick();
$face->readImage($dir . $imageFolder . $faceImageFile);

$face->colorizeImage('rgba(255, 0, 0, 0)', 1.0);

$face->writeImage();
header('Content-type: image/png');
echo $face;
throws an error

Unrecognized color string in /Users/bolyro/Sites/crestia/setColorValue.php:12 Stack trace: #0 /Users/bolyro/Sites/crestia/setColorValue.php(12): Imagick->colorizeimage('rgba(255, 0, 0,...', 1) #1 {main} thrown in...
changing code to this

$face->colorizeImage('#AA0000', 1.0);
throws same error.

i'm not married to the colorizeimage() function... simply want to shift the hue :)

btw: code works fine displaying the image on the screen if i remove the colorizeImage line. so there's apparently no problem with Imagick install.
fmw42

Re: How do I shift the hue of a black png?

Post by fmw42 »

It would be helpful to have your input image to know exactly what you are trying to do.