Does Image Magick have Tonemapping operators?

Discuss digital image processing techniques and algorithms. We encourage its application to ImageMagick but you can discuss any software solutions here.
ssilk
Authentication code: 8675308

Does Image Magick have Tonemapping operators?

Post by ssilk »

Hi,

I thought I had read a while back that Image Magick included some tonemapping operators for compressing HDR images into 8-bit range. Am I wrong about this? I can't find any mention of it now, except that the HDRI Info page (http://www.imagemagick.org/script/high- ... -range.php) says you can apply tonemapping. It's unclear if that's supposed to mean there are tonemapping functions included, or you need to do your own.

Thanks.
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Does Image Magick have Tonemapping operators?

Post by fmw42 »

I am not an expert on HDR images and processing of them. But to my knowledge IM in HDRI mode or any other mode does not have any specific function to do tonemapping on HDR images. I do have a tonemapping script, but do not know if that is what you need (see link below), but it was not designed for HDR images in particular. Perhaps you can explain the process you call tonemapping or give a reference. It is possible that IM can do it, but one would have to set up command lines or a script to do such. I will certainly defer to people more expert with HDR image processing experience.
ssilk

Post by ssilk »

Hi,

Thanks for the response. Tonemapping, at least in the context of HDR images, refers to a class of algorithms designed to compress the large dynamic range of HDR images (often 6 orders of magnitude or greater) into a range that can be displayed on monitors, which are typically limited to around 500:1 at best for a static image. The simplest Tonemappers are global algorithms like linear compression, logarithmic compression. Unfortunately, these usually look terrible, so many much more complex tonemappers have been proposed.