Merging RGB and CMYK into CMYK

Discuss digital image processing techniques and algorithms. We encourage its application to ImageMagick but you can discuss any software solutions here.
teambuktu
Authentication code: 1152

Merging RGB and CMYK into CMYK

Post by teambuktu »

Hello ImageMagick community ;)

This is my first post and before I start I want to thank you guys for all your effort and the enormous amount of information on this site!

I'm developing a web-to-print-solution, and need to merge two sorts of images:

RGB -> Convert into ISO coated V2.

CMYK -> Take it as it is, if the icc profile is correct (ISO coated V2).

The images are treated as layers that can be positioned on a canvas. There can be formats like transparent PNGs, JPEGs (CMYK or RGB) and a few others. The images are soft proofed while they are being edited. Once the user has finished a design, a PDF is generated.

All that stuff works like a charm, however I'm kind of new to color managment, and I ran into an issue, that is tough to solve (at least when it comes to precision).

Since there are quiet a few transformations that must be done with the final design (images are scaled, rotated, and so on), I am using the RGB colorspace for composing the final image, which then is converted into CMYK and placed in a PDF.

Now I'm trying to find the most precise way of converting CMYK into RGB (for composition purposes) and then back into CMYK. In an ideal scenario the CMYK color values would remain unchanged.

There are two significant impacts on the scenario:

1. The CMYK contains NO colours with channel BLACK > 0%

Conversion to RGB (without rendering intent) and back gives identical results. Perfect!

2. The CMYK contains colours with channel BLACK > 0%

Conversion to RGB cannot be done without rendering intent, since the channel BLACK would just be dropped without having been taken into account for the conversion.