How To: Using Cygwin and Bash Scripts (e.g., Fred's) with IM

A plethora of command-line scripts that perform geometric transforms, blurs, sharpens, edging, noise removal, and color manipulations.
jwtrexler
Authentication code: 6789

How To: Using Cygwin and Bash Scripts (e.g., Fred's) with IM

Post by jwtrexler »

I am not a programmer, nor am I versed in photo-editing, and am having trouble utilizing published scripts with IM. Given my predicament, I am not able to successfully follow the instructions given on Fred's webpage that directs one to utilize Cygwin in combination with IM when utilizing a Windows 7 based system. Is anyone aware of a documented process, tutorial, or video for Dummies that may help me utilize the "out-side IM" resource codes. For example, if I understood the process to use Fred's "downsize" script in a Window 7 environment, I do believe I could be successful with other scripts. Thanks in advance for anyone's help.
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Re: How To: Using Cygwin and Scripts (e.g., Fred's) with IM

Post by fmw42 »

Cygwin is required to run my scripts on Windows. I do not use Windows so cannot help much. But see http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/windows/#cygwin. There are some Windows users who have been successful. Perhaps one of them could help.

If you get it installed and get errors from my script, let me know and I can probably figure out what the issue might be. One thing that always comes up is that the unix bc calculator is not installed with Cygwin by default. You have to check the custom install for it.

Some of the issues that Bonzo mentions below were resolve and had to do with line endings coming from textual output from IM commands.
Bonzo

Post by Bonzo »

From memory this has been discussed before and if you search the forum there will be a post about it and I believe the answer was even with Cygwin installed there were problems.